Kansas Winners of the NCGA Corn Yield Contest Announced

Kansas Growers Post Strong Yields in National Corn Yield Contest 

While no Kansas growers received national honors in the 2016 National Corn Growers Association Corn Yield Contest, Kansas farmers did post impressive entries on the state level. Nathan Franklin of Atwood had the top yield in the Kansas contest with a yield of 305.85 bushels per acre. The top yield reported in the National Corn Yield Contest was a whopping 521.4 bushels per acre in an entry in the No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated Division by Randy Dowdy of Valdosta, GA, planting AgriGold 16499 STX/RIB.

“The Kansas entries to the National Corn Yield Contest were impressive,” said Kansas Corn CEO Greg Krissek. “Our growers who participated in the contest continue to show how we can sustainably produce a needed crop for our customers in Kansas and around the world.”

Improved seed varieties, advanced production techniques and innovative growing practices helped corn growers achieve ever-higher yields in the National Corn Growers Association 2016 National Corn Yield Contest. Additionally, a record five national entries surpassed the 400-plus bushel per acre mark.

Here are the first place Kansas winners.

First place went to Brad Taylor of White Cloud, planting Taylor Seed Farms 8835 VT2PRO with a yield of 267.1587

No-till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated:

First place went to Jeff Koelzer of Onaga, planting DEKALB DKC60-69RIB  with a yield of 284.4168

No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated: First place went to Nathan Franklin of Atwood, planting Pioneer P1197AM

with a yield of 305.8542


First place went to Todd Cyr of Clyde planting Pioneer P2089AM with a yield of 279.7281

Follow this link to see a full list of Kansas winners.

Follow this link for the full National Corn Yield Contest Results.


The National Corn Yield Contest is now in its 52nd year and remains NCGA’s most popular program for members. Participation in the contest remained strong in 2016, with 7,972 entries received.