Kansas Growers to Serve at Corn Congress

Seven Kansas corn leaders will represent the Kansas Corn Growers Association (KCGA) at the summer Corn Congress delegate sessions the week of July 17. At Corn Congress, delegates will review National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) policy and elect national officers. In addition to the voting delegate sessions, the growers will also visit the offices of the Kansas congressional delegation, and participate in NCGA action team meetings.

This year’s delegates to Corn Congress are: Ken McCauley, White Cloud; Brian Baalman, Menlo; Pat Ross, Lawrence; Bob Timmons, Fredonia; Randy Small, Neodesha; Dennis McNinch, Arnold, and Roger Pine, Lawrence. KCGA staff Greg Krissek, Sue Schulte and Stacy Mayo will attend as well. KCGA President Ken McCauley said it is important for farmers participate in Corn Congress.

“This is a crucial time for corn growers. It’s important to participate in Corn Congress to set the direction for the organization. It is also important that our state’s senators and representatives have an opportunity to discuss issues, like trade, regulatory reform and market access for ethanol,” McCauley said. “We’ll also visit congressional offices of non-corn states to help them understand our issues and to simply help them get a better understanding of agriculture.”

In the area of trade, corn growers are calling for increased funding of Federal export programs, as well as protecting ag market access in NAFTA modernization and support pursuing new free trade agreements.  In the area of ethanol, corn growers are pushing for passage of bills to remove an obscure EPA regulation that limits the sale of E15 fuel in the summer months, and maintain a strong Renewable Fuels Standard (RFS). In the topic of regulatory relief, corn growers are calling on the Senate to pass Senate Bill 340, the Sensible Environmental Protection Act, that reduces the regulatory burden on producers who apply crop protection chemicals following label requirements. In infrastructure, growers support allocating existing funding to modernize the inland waterways transportation system.

Corn Congress week begins with two days of action team meetings. Bob Timmons serves on the Freedom to Operate Action Team, and Randy Small serves on the Stewardship Action Team. Stacy Mayo serves on the Engaging Members Committee.