Collegiate Program Announces Winners

Kansas Corn Awards 15 Scholarships, 6 Collegiate Academy Inductees

Kansas Corn has announced the 15 Next Generation Scholarship recipients for 2018 and six Kansas Corn Collegiate Academy Class One inductees. These programs are part of an overall effort by the Kansas Corn Growers Association and Kansas Corn Commission to provide opportunities for college students of all majors to learn more about the corn industry, explore issues facing agriculture and embrace the ways they can impact the industry through their future career paths.

To be considered, students were required to become members of the Kansas Corn Growers Association, attend college in the state of Kansas and complete the application process. Applications for both programs were reviewed by a committee of Kansas Corn leadership and industry representatives.

“It was at a young age that I first noticed the value of the agricultural industry in Kansas,” says Trent Frye of Belleville, Kansas. “From the food that we put on the table to the very clothing we wear on our backs, there truly is no limit to what this vast industry contributes to our wonderful state. Being accepted to this academy and receiving this scholarship is truly an honor. This gives me the opportunity to learn about the various aspects of the corn industry that drives the agricultural industry in our state and what we as students have to offer towards the future of the agricultural industry.”

2018 Kansas Corn Next Generation Scholarship Recipients

  • Shaylee Aprin, Salina, KS, agricultural communications and journalism
  • Guillermo Balboa, Manhattan, KS, PhD agronomy
  • Nils Bergsten, Holton, KS, agribusiness with minor in business administration
  • Molly Bertz, Mayview, MO, agricultural communications and journalism
  • Katelyn Bohnenblust, Clay Center, KS, agricultural education
  • William Brown, Manhattan, KS, PhD animal sciences and industry
  • Zachary Callaghan, Tonganoxie, KS, agricultural education and food systems leadership
  • Jacqueline Clawson, Meade, KS, agricultural economics and business marketing
  • Tara Cook, Atwood, CO, food science and industry
  • Trent Frye, Belleville, KS, agronomy
  • Annie Jewell, Shawnee, KS, public relations
  • Molly Morgan, Deerfield, KS, elementary education
  • Sarah Niederee, Great Bend, KS, agricultural economics
  • Osler Ortez, Manhattan, KS, MS agronomy
  • Santiago Tamango, Manhattan, KS, agronomy

The collegiate programs have had great support from industry partners such as Conestoga Energy Partners, LLC, this year’s Kansas Corn Collegiate Academy sponsor. The students accepted into this academy will be given the chance to delve deeper into the corn industry and learn about the issues faced by American agriculture and how their future career paths may be impacted. Participating students will create a capstone project relating to their area of study, spend a day at the Statehouse in Topeka and attend Corn Congress in Washington, D.C.

“It is important for college students to see the connections between their future and the corn industry and the Collegiate Academy is a great resource in making those connections,” says Laura Handke, Kansas Corn collegiate coordinator.

Kansas Corn Collegiate Academy Class One

  • Avery Aust, Louisburg, KS, agribusiness with marketing emphasis
  • Tyler Cloud, Garden City, KS, agribusiness
  • Gracie Danner, West Liberty, IA, agricultural economics with minor in international ag
  • Keren Duerksen, Newton, KS, agronomy
  • Trent Frye, Belleville, KS, agronomy
  • Jaylie Weseloh, Yates Center, KS, animal science and industry with minor in agribusiness