Kansas Corn on Congressional Approval of 2018 Farm Bill

Dec. 12, 2018–The U.S. House of Representatives passed the 2018 Farm Bill with a vote of 369-47. The vote came just a day after the U.S. Senate easily passed the bill. Kansas Corn Growers Association President Ken McCauley thanked Congressman Roger Marshall, who serves on the House Agriculture Committee and also had a seat on the Farm Bill Conference Committee, for his leadership in the bill’s passage. All four Kansas Representatives voted in favor of the farm bill.
“Passage of this bill, especially in the House, was questionable just a few weeks ago. Having a Kansas voice on the House Ag Committee with Congressman Marshall was key for us,” McCauley said. “Our entire Congressional delegation worked to get this bill passed, and we appreciate their efforts.”
Kansas Corn worked closely with the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) and Kansas commodity groups as the farm bill moved through committees to completion. In a statement today, NCGA President Lynn Chrisp said the farm bill satisfies the top priorities of corn growers.
“NCGA is most pleased to see the bill maintains support for a robust crop insurance program, our organization’s top priority, and strengthens the ARC-CO program through administrative improvements including a one-time program change option, an increase to the plug yield for disaster years, the use of a trend-adjusted yield factor, and a market adjustment provision for the floor price. The bill also provides increased funding for trade promotion programs that are especially important to agriculture at this time,” Chrisp said.
The Kansas Corn Growers Association represents its members on legislative and regulatory issues and promotes corn and corn products.