Kansas Corn Growers Association Board, Officers Set


KCGA President, Steve Rome

Jan. 23, 2019–Hugoton farmer Steve Rome is the new president of the Kansas Corn Growers Association (KCGA). KCGA held its annual meeting on Jan. 23 at Manhattan, in conjunction with the Kansas Corn Symposium. Members received legislative and organizational updates, reviewed and approved 2019 resolutions and held board elections for the southwest, south central and southeast districts. Steve Rome, Hugoton, was reelected to represent the southwest district; Kent Moore, Iuka, was reelected to represent the south central district and the southeast district seat will be appointed by the board at a later date.

In a reorganizational meeting following the annual meeting, the KCGA board elected a new slate of officers. Steve Rome, Hugoton, was elected president. Brent Rogers, Hoxie, was elected vice president. Harvey Heier, Grainfield, was reelected secretary. Kent Moore, Iuka, was elected treasurer.

KCGA recognized leaders at the Kansas Corn Symposium dinner. Outgoing KCGA President Ken McCauley and outgoing KCGA Treasurer Charles Foltz, Garnett, were recognized for their years of service.. McCauley is also past president of the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) McCauley and Foltz remain on the KCGA board. Bob Timmons of Fredonia, retired from the board as the southeast Kansas district representative and was recognized at the dinner. Timmons was first elected to the board in 1994 and had served as KCGA President 2009-16; he also served on NCGA committees and action teams.

The Kansas Corn Growers Association is a membership-based organization that represents its members in legislative and regulatory issues and promotes Kansas corn and its uses.